Rev. Lab/Aagoo Records

Release Date
September 21 2018


1. Drones and Piles
2. Decay
3. Ulrik
4. Mort aux Cons
5. Kraut and Piles
6. Materials in US
7. Chambre d’Echo
8. Marie



Piles is a drum trio, located for 2/3 in Nancy and for 1/3 in Avignon, France, consisting of Guigou Chevenier (founding member of theFrench band Etron Fou leloublan (1973-1986) collaborations withbands and artists like Les Batteries, Body Parts, Octavo, CharlesHayward, les Mutants, Fred Frith among others), Michel Deltruc (Self-taught drummer- percussionist started in the band of Isle -Adam 95. In Nancy he joined the collective NAJA Nancy Jazz Action. Collaborations with bands and artists like Rosette, Terry Ex, Jagger Naut, Christelle Sery, Thierry Madiot among others) and Anthony Laguerre (protean person, composer, improve musician and sound engineer. He is leading his projects and develops his sound around rock, noise or improve music. His work is about ‘sound like music’. The different influences gave him the possibility to work on forms with harmony and sound matter. Anthony plays drums in Filiamotsa, Club Cactus, Myotis among others.

The Piles sound is a free fall into the universe of beats, rhythm,dynamics, repetition of the unexpected, it is an adventure that reveals the hidden depths in the Piles sound spectrum of acousticdrums.

The Piles sound balances in a grey area of abstract sound with alink to the sound and attitude of the drum in alternative rock.

The Piles sound is layered, dynamic, angular, original, catchy and divers.

PilesUna Volta’ is a dialogue between three drummers -act and react to each other without missing the point.

PilesUna Volta’ can be played for a close listening or can be playedfor a good dance.

Piles delivers with ‘Una Volta’ a knock out record of 8 compositions revealing secrets of the universe that are written in light.

The Piles cd-release ‘Una Volta’ is accompanied by a 32 paged booklet based on the graphic stop-motion video ‘Drones and Piles’ created by graphic artist Bas Mantel. The rhythmic and fragmentary style of the black and white images is exposing the art of dance with Lettraset, dots-dots-dots, molecules transmitting life and death, cells constructing shapes, graphic radiowaves translated into frequencies and velocity, the repetition in electro magnetic patterns and the isolation of getting lost in outer space. -Signals against the static- being found and detected by radio telescopes.

Like the Piles drum sound the graphic design is frightening, direct, loud/quiet, raw, layered, fragmentary, abstract and experimental. It isorganic and carefully skilled.

The three piece Piles play together since 2016 and they recorded the album ‘Una Volta’ in October 2016. It is their first release and it is number 007 in the Rev. Lab series (REV007) by AAGOO Records (AGO111).