Ernest Jenning Record Co.

Release Date
October 27 2017


1. Sick Of War
2. Like Gary Wilson Said
3. I Wanna Exist
4. Christo’s Peers (Soon We’ll Be Floating)
5. Natural Light
6. They Are Bones
7. Loma Prieta
8. I Don’t Want To Be Defended
9. Keys To The City
10. I Left America


 About the band
The band SAVAK (pronounced “saw-vawk”) was formed in 2015 by members of Obits, The Make-Up, Holy Fuck, and The Cops. Their influences range from ’60s Texas psychedelia to British pub rock to early-’80s American hardcore, with some Zamrock and Chicha thrown in for good measure. SAVAK connect the dots from Empire to Red Krayola to Cleaners From Venus to The Pagans, making stops at Los Destellos and Witch along the route. Their first album, “Best of Luck in Future Endeavors,” was released in 2016 on Comedy Minus One to a stellar reception:

“Superior twin-guitar slash action… adding Saints-worthy brass… [to] the prevailing Wipers-do-Joe Jackson aura. Four stars!”
– Mojo

“A potent and pointed agitpop racket… which manages to balance the dark and moody with the catchy as fuck.”
– Noisey/VICE

“Dread-fueled, post-punk angst tempered with catchy hooks… outstanding.”
– Magnet

“Best of Luck ranges from jangly, pop-infused punk in a Rezillos strain to more aggressive pieces, but everything here reverberates with an abundance of kinetic energy. This is just awesome.”
– Jersey Beat

“Hooky and immediate. These songs have real staying power.”
– Brooklyn Vegan

About the release
SAVAK’s second collection of immaculate nuggets of primo, left-field rock’n’roll music will be released by Ernest Jenning Record Co. (King Khan, William S. Burroughs) on October 27, 2017. The album was produced by the band and Geoff Sanoff (Nada Surf, Luna, Jets To Brazil) at Renegade Nation Studio in New York City with additional recording done by the band at their Brooklyn practice space and homes.

This is an album for listeners who don’t seek authenticity, but intuitively know it when they hear it; for people who are interested in language and sound. This is not lifestyle marketing. This is not going to cover your bald spot or shrink your waistband. This is not this year’s model. Or last year’s model dressed up as tomorrow’s hope. This is the sound of four adult men in Brooklyn, New York, sharing their world as they see it. They are not afraid

to write about politics or personal failings. They are not afraid to celebrate love. Or yearn for a better world. They may be cut up, but they are here to stay.

For those who need references, the band suggests Neu!, The Gun Club, Agent Orange, The Fall, Magazine, Love, Mission of Burma, Gang of Four, The Byrds, Television and dub music, spy movie soundtracks, international folk music, free jazz, spoken word, comedy, food, travel, books, and just trying to sustain humanity in an increasingly hostile world.



Album Cover
Press Release
Press Pics (Soon)
Full EPK (Soon)