Savana Funk



Garrincha GOGO
Release Date Digital
October 14, 2022
Release Date Physical
December 14, 2022


1. Agadir
2. Ghibli
3. Elephant
4. Ganimede
5. Lipari
6. Ayat
7. Ghanaba
8. Ifri
9. Madagascar
10. Boubacar


After a long and successful tour (more than 100 shows all over Europe), that included some of the biggest festivals next to Red Hot Chili Peppers and Kokoroko, SAVANA FUNK are announcing their long-awaited new album, “Ghibli”. It will be out on vinyl in December on GoGo, a Garrincha Dischi sub label focused on world music.

Ghibli” is a warm and dry wind that blows from the desert to the Mediterrean. The band formed by Aldo Betto, Blake Franchetto and Youssef Ait Bouzza describes their later work as an album influenced by the colors and the sounds of the south of the world, guided by the wind, always chainging, sometimes whispering, singing or overwhelming. A wind that cleans out your mind, ruffle your hairs and ideas.

The wind of the desert that pulls the sand in the sea contaminating the air and the elements. A driving and cheering power like the music of the trio that melts different cultures and worlds apart, a perfect balance between the past and the present, Europa and Africa.

The same contaminations manifest in the music with a continuous melting pot of groove and melody, a rhythmic gait that draws on electronic music especially made for dancing. The album flows in a continuous movement between the ten tracks, like an evolving magma. Like the path of real life, earthly and material, solid and liquid at the same time.

Wrote during the pandemic winter 2020-2021, the album shift from the quartet of “Tindouf” to the original trio, giving back a minimalist sharp yet intense sound.

Ghibli” is being released digitally on October 14, 2022 and will be available on vinyl format from December 14, 2022.