A Chronicle
A soundtrack to Jacopo Benassi's Meiwo



Witty Books
Release Date
November 11, 2021


1. A Chronicle Pt. 1
2. A Chronicle Pt. 2



Over the course of 2020 Larsen released a series of monthly sessions of improvised music. It was a project intended as a sonic real-time documentary made available to their supporters on the Patreon platform.

In 2013 the artist Jacopo Benassi, through a series of photographs, documented his artistic residency in Guangzhou, China. 
These two voyages; Larsen’s voyage in time, deconstructed and reassembled in the form of a suite titled “A Chronicle” and Jacopo Benassi’s voyage in space collected in the book “Meiwo” come together now in an aural-visual dialogue as the winner of the 2021 Ear/Eye Award announced by the Witty Books publishing house.

Since 1995 Larsen, from Torino Italy, has released 17 full length albums and 4 eps, which got remarkable worldwide press, and performed all over Europe, UK and North America.

Collaborations with such artists as Johann Johannsson, Michael Gira, Martin Bisi, Lustmord, Deathprod, Nurse With Wound, Z’EV, Baby Dee, Julia Kent, sci-fi icon Christine Schell plus the project -a band in itself- XXL (aka Xiu Xiu + Larsen) also stand out on their record.

In 2008 legendary dub-diva Little Annie (a.k.a. Annie Anxiety Bandez) joined the band as lead singer and lyricist appearing on “La Fever Lit” and “Cool Cruel Mouth” and live on stage on the related tours. 

2016 sees the band representing itself as instrumental unit with a new album “Of Grog Vim” (featuring special guest Thor Harris from Swans). A new Larsen EP “Tiles” featuring Annie and a new XXLPuff O’Gigio” album came out in late 2018.

The latest Larsen album “Arrival Vibrate“, a tribute to their friend Z’EV and featuring a remix by John Duncan, was released in October 2019 on Important Records’ Cassauna.
“Golden Leaf” a collaboration with their sound engineer, electro-acoustic musician Paul Beauchamp, and the sound artist Alessandro Sciaraffa. “Golden Leaf” will be released in Spring 2022 on Important Records and the band has announced a future studio album to be produced by Touch recording artist and Slowdive drummer Simon Scott.

Fabrizio Modonese Palumbo

Marco “ilBue” Schiavo

Paolo Dellapiana
Roberto Maria Clemente