no metal in this battle
Lightrider/Lord Of Fuzz



Muaaah Records
A tant Rêver Du Roi Records
Don’t Trust A Bear Records
Release Date
June 16, 2023


1. Lightrider
2. Lord Of Fuzz


No metal in this battle is excited to announce the release of two brand-new songs – Lightrider and Lord of Fuzz. On paper, Lord of Fuzz may sound like a strange fusion of stoner rock, tropicalia, and heavy bass-driven funk guitar, but the band has managed to bring everything together with an unmistakable sound that is uniquely their own.

Lightrider is likely to be the most radio-friendly pop song the band has ever written. With a lucky twist, the band has followed their flow, resulting in a vocoder-driven afro disco anthem that is sure to get you dancing all summer long.

The inclusion of vocals in both new songs was neither planned nor expected, but the songs felt like they needed it. The vocals were carried out by Xavier Battle, a Luxembourgish political activist and long-time friend of the band.

The release of Lord of Fuzz and Lightrider marks the end of a three-chapter release and will be compiled with two previous releases – Shimokita/Zeitzonen and Disco Dans Ta Cave/Fano – to form a full-length LP on vinyl called “Wie Kraut und Rüben”. This record will be strictly limited and will be available via Muaaah Records and À Tant Rêver du Roi Records in the Fall.

Preorders for the vinyl will open simultaneously with the digital release of Lightrider/Lord of Fuzz.

Formed in 2011, no metal in this battle came together after a decade of playing and touring in diverse screamo, math-rock and emocore bands in Luxembourg and abroad. Initially formed as a trio, no metal expanded very early to a quartet and released their first EP “the Husky tape” in 2012. A second EP (Ours) followed in 2015 and helped the band gain exposure internationally.

After numerous shows in Europe, touring Germany, Belgium and France, playing festivals like Incheon Pentaport Festival (South Korea), Rock for People (Czech Republic), Galapagai Festival (Lithuania) or Primavera Sound Festival (Spain) and even a tour in Japan, their first full length album “Paprika” was finally released in 2017. Followed extensive touring as well as a tour in India highlighted with an acclaimed performance at Magnetic Fields festival.

Since the pandemic no metal in this battle is focusing on jamming and improvisation, the search for the perfect groove and releasing new exciting material at a regular pace. Categorisation being a necessary evil, no metal in this battle is an eclectic mix of post-rock, math-rock, afro beat, post punk and krautrock. No metal’s roots can be heard in bands like fugazi, The Budos band, Soft Machine, Cave, Redneck Manifesto, Maserati, or the almighty Fela Kuti.