Not A Citizen



Some Other Planet Records
Release Date
November 5 2021


1. 13189
2. Floating Away
3. Frogs
4. Broke Again
5. Sin Tus Ojos, Yo No Te Puedo Ver
6. Andes
7. Black and Blue Cheese
8. Midnight Ride
9. empty streets
10. The Last Dusk


The album “13189” is a collection of songs that I’ve been working on since 2018, in my time between London and Berlin. These big cities had an undeniable influence on this record, theme, and overall aesthetics. From the late commutes to rehearsal and gigs in the underground system, lonely nights in my room writing music, and all the struggles that come with city life. I wanted to capture the beauty of the urban experience while not forgetting about the struggles that it brings, which I’m sure many can relate to.

13189 is structured in a way that reflects the journey I had through the years in which I’ve recorded these songs. The LP opens with an instrumental track titled ‘13189‘ and followed by ‘Floating Away‘. Both tracks set the mood of a gloomy night in Berlin. You can hear the S-Bahn train at the end of the first piece.

Following these 2 songs, the listener will find ‘Frogs‘ and ‘Broke Again‘. Both tracks are reworked versions of songs that I wrote in London around 2018 when everything that could possibly go wrong, went wrong – health, work, money, living situation, you name it.
After that, there’s ‘Sin Tus Ojos, Yo No Te Puedo Ver‘ and ‘Andes‘ – these songs capture the melancholic feeling of nostalgia of missing the South American land and its people.

To interrupt the listening journey, ‘Black and Blue Cheese‘ plays after that. This song was written to observe the controversial era that we’re living in, which is marked by an acute lack of empathy. It captures the current state of the world in the best way I know how. To finalise the LP, the tempo gets slowed down to incorporate a sense of space and loneliness with the tracks ‘Midnight Ride‘, ‘empty streets‘ and ‘The Last Dusk‘.

The goal of this record is to frame my personal experience through the past few years while living in the UK and Germany, so it made sense for me to capture these events as they happened. It’s worth mentioning that through this musical journey, I’ve met a great amount of friends and incredibly talented people that I worked with. ‘Broke Again‘ was recorded with my live band in London and ‘Black and Blue Cheese‘ with two musicians in Berlin.

Cristóbal Jimenez Van Cauwelaert aka Not A Citizen