The Somnambulist
Some More Songs Lost in Themselves



Slowing Records
Release Date
December 2, 2022


1. All Strain is Over
2. Flowers from Where You Go
3. Not a Song for You
4. Lametech
5. Lowerin’ Sun
6. The Freewheelers



In Spring 2020, shortly after the first lockdown in Berlin came to an end, Marco Bianciardi (vocals, guitar), Leon Griese (drums) and Isabel Rößler (bass, who had joined the band half an year before then) finally met again in the practice room. Here they began writing a follow-up album to Hypermnesiac, which was just released the February prior. The initial project – an LP titled “All Strain is Over”, a liberating hymn to celebrate the future end of the pandemic – ran aground a year later because of further lockdowns and the departure of Rößler from the band. Griese and Bianciardi then decided to split the accumulated material in two parts and complete the production of two distinct EPs as a duo, with the involvement of a number of guest musicians for recording.

Some More Songs Lost in Themselves is the first of these EPs to be released, recorded with the composer and multi-instrumentalist Paul Peuker on bass. Six impressionistically brief songs that develop and refine the band’s path undertaken in the preceding album of simplification, synthesis and innovation of their language; featuring more accessible, direct and effective musical solutions, while retaining the courage, tension and sense of fracture typical of their previous works. Thanks to Rößler’s contribution to the songwriting process, the songs gain a particularly playful and minimalistic approach.

From the supernaturally groovy bubblegum pop of The Freewheelers and All Strain is Over, to the caustic and glam-rocking bittersweetness of Flowers from Where You Go and Lowerin’ Sun, through the ambiguity, fierceness and angularity of Not a Song for You and Lametech, these shapeshifting songs wander into borderless territories in a way that is highly cinematic and, paradoxically, easy-listening and deeply complex at once.

This, as a rough approximation, is the blistering material of a record which sounds like breaking the perception of time (like the dream of a long journey experienced within a contradicting length of time) and, with repeated playing, seems to both reveal and conceal its own secret: the ever-thickening mystery behind the hall of mirrors where The Somnambulist‘s songs come from.

The Somnambulist is a Berlin based music project with an ongoing history of more than ten years, which combines the input of an international musicians’collective with unique, ever changing interpretations in an interdisciplinary approach to view music as a transient infinite medium. Their intent to both respectfully acknowledge and surpass definitions and boundaries of genres are a key element as to why it seems difficult, even nonsensical to attach a singular style to their work. If pinned down, they have been known to combine characteristics from Psychedelic and Alternative Rock to elements of Jazz, Experimental and Classical Music, soaking up influences from multi-faceted musicians and bands such as Frank Zappa, The Beatles, Radiohead, dEUS, Sonic Youth, Nick Cave or Tom Waits.

They have been deemed by critics as following in the tradition of Berlin inspired musical innovation as done by David Bowie, Brian Eno and Iggy Pop in the late 70’s and subsequently developed by The Bad Seeds and Einstürzende Neubauten. Marco Bianciardi, Leon Griese and Nicolas Haumann are the current members of The Somnambulist which, after four albums, continues to be characterized by meticulous, determined and febrile explorations, proving itself against all odds with success in staying true to its artistic nature. If there is still new musical ground to break, this band will certainly be a collective part of it.